12.5 C
Thursday, November 30, 2023

India vs New Zealand World Test Championship To Commence From June 18

The two teams will play the matches at The Ageas Bowl ground, Southampton

Must read

Dhruv Chakraborty
Dhruv Chakraborty
An engineer, sports journalist, and editor with a passion for writing fitness and sports-related articles.

UNITED KINGDOM: On June 18, the Indian cricket team and New Zealand cricket team will compete against each other for the World Test Championship Title. The two teams will play the matches at The Ageas Bowl ground, Southampton.

The first-ever Test championship will be a historic moment in the world of cricket. New Zealand currently holds the title of being the number one test team followed by India. Interestingly, both the teams played their last test series against England.

- Advertisement -

India won the five-match test series against England by 3-1 out of which one match was a draw. On the other hand, New Zealand also won their last two matches against England by 1-0.

Today, the Indian team declared their playing 11 for the test championship. Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shubhman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, and Mohammed Shami are the ones who secured their place in the playing 11.

- Advertisement -

This time, Mohammad Siraj, Wriddhiman Saha, Hanuma Vihari, and Umesh Yadav have failed to secure their spot on the team. The New Zealand team is yet to announce their playing 11.

Meanwhile, New Zealand has the upper hand over India as they know the conditions of England as they have recently played two Test matches in England. Before the England series, New Zealand’s main worry was not having an opening partner with Latham. But Devon Conway made sure that his team didn’t have to worry about an opening batsman as he scored a marvelous double century in his debut Test innings. Conway also became the seventh player and second New Zealand batsman to score a double century on his Test debut.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Debutant Devon Conway Scores A Record-Breaking Double Century Against England

New Zealand Squad for the World Test Championship: Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner BJ Watling, and Will Young.

According to the weather reports of The Ageas Bowl, rain can interrupt the play multiple times throughout the five days of this Test match. If the final match ends in a tie or a draw, the two teams will be declared as the joint champions.

In the World Test Championship, India has played 17 matches where they won 12 matches, lost four matches, and drew one. India ended up on the top of the points table with 520 points. New Zealand played 11 matches where they won seven matches and lost four. New Zealand ended up in a second place with 420 points.


- Advertisement -



Comments are closed.

- Advertisement -

Trending Today