9.7 C
Wednesday, February 21, 2024

The G7 Leaders To Sign The Global Health Declaration

In the second day of the three-day summit, the G7 leaders agreed upon a landmark action plan to prevent future pandemics

Must read

Partha Pratim Ray
Partha Pratim Ray
Senior journalist covering topics related to sports and corporate communication.

UNITED KINGDOM: One of the prime agenda for the G7 leaders this time was to set a global response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Along with this, the leaders are aiming to develop a global health system that can protect humanity from future pandemics.

The Carbis Bay Declaration

Carbis Bay Declaration consists of a series of health policy commitments that sets out the steps G7 countries will take to prevent a future pandemic. The declaration was named after Carbis Bay which is seaside town in Cornwall, England. The G7 will boost genomic sequencing capacity, and support reforms to strengthen the World Health Organization (WHO).

- Advertisement -

The G7 nations will further work on slashing the time taken to develop and license vaccines, treatments and diagnostics to fewer than 100 days for any disease surfacing in near future.

The Carbis Bay Declaration has been published on Sunday alongside the G7 Summit Communique.

- Advertisement -

Dr Tedros Adhanom, Director General, World Health Organization, said, “We welcome the Carbis Bay health declaration, particularly as the world begins to recover and rebuild from the Covid-19 pandemic. Together we need to build on the significant scientific and collaborative response to the Covid-19 pandemic and find common solutions to address many of the gaps identified.”

About the G7 Summit 2021

The 47th G7 summit began on June 11 in Carbis Bay, Cornwall, United Kingdom. This year, the UK takes on the Presidency of the G7. The last G7 summit in August, 2019 was held in the French seaside town of Biarritz. The US held the G7 Presidency in 2020 but did not convene a Leaders’ Summit due to Covid-19 pandemic.

- Advertisement -

Participant leaders from G7 nations and other invitees

The leaders of the seven G7 member states like Justin Trudeau – Prime Minister, Canada, Emmanuel Macron – President, France, Angela Merkel – Chancellor, Germany, Mario Draghi – Prime Minister, Italy, Yoshihide Suga – Prime Minister, Japan, Boris Johnson – Prime Minister, United Kingdom (Host), Joe Biden – President, United States, and representatives of the European Union like Ursula von der Leyen – Commission President, European Union, Charles Michel – Council President, European Union are the Core G7 Members attending the summit this year.

Invitee Members includes, Scott Morrison – Prime Minister, Australia, Narendra Modi – Prime Minister, India, Moon Jae-in – President, South Korea, Cyril Ramaphosa – President, South Africa.

International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, World Bank Group, World Health Organisation and World Trade Organisation are participating virtually in the Summit this year.

About the G7

The G7 (Group of Seven) is an organization comprising of the world’s seven largest advanced economies like Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK and the United States. In past years the G7 has taken several significant actions to strengthen the global healthcare infrastructure, economy, combat tax evasion, and supported the education of millions of children.

To catch hold of the latest international news, please visit the Politics Section of Transcontinental times.


- Advertisement -



Trending Today