14.3 C
Madrid
Sunday, September 25, 2022

CWG 2022: Sehwag’s Outspoken Response to the Issue Surrounding India’s Hockey SF

Australia's Rosie Malone was given another shot after missing her initial shot in the penalty shoot-out despite Savita Punia's excellent save

Must read

Sadaf Hasan
Sadaf Hasan
Aspiring reporter covering trending topics

UNITED KINGDOM: The hockey controversy that overshadowed the Indian women’s team’s semi-final match against Australia at the 2022 Commonwealth Games has been addressed bluntly by former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag.

Australia’s Rosie Malone was given another shot after missing her initial shot in the penalty shoot-out despite Savita Punia’s excellent save because the timer hadn’t yet started. The forward scored on the next shot, and the Indians ultimately lost 0-3 in the shoot-out, which came before a 1-1 score at the end of the regular.

- Advertisement -

Before India became a “superpower,” Sehwag said in a daring tweet that cricket also experienced “biasness.” “Australia se penalty miss,” the referee apologises, adding, “Sorry, clock start nahi hua.” Before we became a superpower, there was bias in both cricket and hockey. “Hockey mein bhi hum jald banege and all the clocks will start on time. Proud of our girls.” The former batter wrote.

Australia kept up their momentum and scored on their next three attempts at the Indian goal, while Jocelyn Bartram, the alternate goalie, blocked India’s attempts at the shoot-out.

- Advertisement -

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) expressed regret for the situation and promised to “thoroughly analyze” what happened with the clock. The penalty shoot-out between Australia and India (Women) in the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games semi-final began prematurely (the clock was not yet ready to run), which the FIH apologised for in a statement.

“The penalty shoot-out had to be retaken in accordance with the procedure in place for such circumstances, which was carried out. The FIH will conduct a comprehensive investigation into this situation to prevent repeat problems,” It was added.

- Advertisement -

Punia downplayed the shoot-out event and claimed that such things happen in sports. It was a pretty close game, and it may be challenging when choices don’t go your way. Retaking the initial stroke was requested. Although it was difficult for us, these things are necessary for winning. After the game, Savita said to Sony Sports, “We need to move on.”

Janneke Schopman, the coach of India, acknowledged that the controversy may have ‘affected’ the outcome but refrained from using it as a justification for their semi-final loss.

“It’s difficult because, arguably, after going up 1-0 and gaining momentum, I have five players who are angry that they can grab the ball again. Their attention may have diverted slightly, but it is hardly an excuse. It was not at all beneficial to us,” said Schopman.

Also Read: CWG 2022, Highlights from Day 7: Sudhir Wins Gold in Para Powerlifting; Sreeshankar Clinches Silver in Long Jump

Author

- Advertisement -

Archives

- Advertisement -

Trending Today