20.3 C
Monday, October 3, 2022

Harshal Patel and Openers Helps India Defeat New Zealand by 7 Wickets

Harshal Patel was Adjudged the player of the match for his bowling figures of 4-0-25-2

Must read

Dhruv Chakraborty
Dhruv Chakraborty
An engineer, sports journalist, and editor with a passion for writing fitness and sports-related articles.

INDIA: India defeats New Zealand by 7 wickets to go 2-0 up in this 3-match T20I series and by that India has won this T20I series. The dynamic opening partnership of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul and the brilliant bowling performance of the Indian Bowlers helped India win this match quite comfortably.

India won the toss and decided that they’ll bowl first. India had one change in their team as Mohammad Siraj got a finger injury in the 1st T20I therefore Harshal Patel comes in his place. New Zealand had 3 changes in their playing 11 as James Neesham, Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi replaces Todd Astle, Rachin Ravindra, and Lockie Ferguson. Harshal Patel also becomes the 6th oldest T20I debutant for India (30 years 361 days).

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Lewis Hamilton Posts a Stunning Win at the Brazilian Grand Prix

New Zealand’s promising start in the powerplay

New Zealand was off to a blazing start as their openers Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell stitched up a 48 runs partnership in just 4.1 overs. In this partnership, Martin Guptill was the aggressor as he scored a fiery 31 runs off just 15 deliveries which included 3 fours and 2 sixes. In this innings, Martin Guptill surpassed Virat Kohli as the highest run-scorer in T20 internationals as he now has 3231 runs.

- Advertisement -

After Guptill got out, Mark Chapman joined Daryl Mitchell in the middle. Chapman scored 21 off 17 deliveries which included 3 fours before he was dismissed by Axar Patel. Daryl Mitchell also got out shortly after the wicket of Chapman. Daryl Mitchell scored 31 off 28 deliveries which included 3 fours.

After the wicket of Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips played a quick inning as he scored 34 off 21 deliveries which included 1 four and 3 massive sixes. Apart from that, the New Zealand lower order added 29 runs to take New Zealand to a competitive total of 153/6 in 20 overs.

- Advertisement -

For India, Harshal Patel took 2 wickets while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, and Ravichandran Ashwin took 1 wicket each.

Indian openers giving India a great start

India started their innings with a bang as both the in-form Indian openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul gave India a blistering start. The duo added 45 runs in the powerplay. Even after the end of the powerplay, they both kept punishing the kiwi bowlers.

KL Rahul brought up his 16th T20I half-century by hitting a six off Adam Milne at second of 11th over. Both Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul also put up a 100 runs partnership. This was the 5th time KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma had a century partnership in T20I. Rohit Sharma also became the player that is involved in most 100+ partnerships in T20I cricket (13 times).

KL Rahul got out after playing a wonderful knock of 65 off 49 deliveries which included 6 fours and 2 sixes. After the fall of Rahul, Venkatesh Iyer joined Rohit Sharma in the middle. Rohit Sharma reached his 25th T20I fifty with a six before getting out on delivery of Tim Southee. Rohit Sharma scored 55 runs off 36 deliveries which included 1 four and 5 gigantic sixes. After the wicket of Rohit, Tim Southee also got rid of Suryakumar Yadav who scored just 1 off 2 deliveries.

Rishabh Pant joined Venkatesh Iyer and they both stitched up an 18 runs partnership to help India chase down the target. Rishabh Pant scored 12 runs off 6 deliveries which included 2 sixes whereas Venkatesh Iyer scored 12 runs off 11 deliveries which included 2 fours.

For New Zealand, Tim Southee took 3 wickets in his 4 overs spell while all the other bowlers failed to take any wickets.


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today