24.1 C
Monday, June 17, 2024

Novak Djokovic Wins His Sixth Wimbledon Title

Novak Djokovic is now levelled with Federer and Rafael Nadal with a total of 20 grand slams

Must read

Partha Pratim Ray
Partha Pratim Ray
Senior journalist covering topics related to sports and corporate communication.

UNITED KINGDOM: The World No.1 Serbian Novak Djokovic defeated Italy’s Matteo Berrettini in the finals of Wimbeldon on Sunday July 11, 2021 to win his 20th Grand slam. With this win, Djokovic has won the first three grand slam titles of this year and is one title away from completing the grand slam. He also becomes the first player to qualify for the November 14-21 ATP Finals in Turin, Italy after Wimbledon win. Over the last 13 and a half years since Djokovic’s  journey began with his first major title, his self-confidence pushed him up to attain the goal of becoming the greatest player of his time.

- Advertisement -

Another history was created in the final match when Croatian umpire Marija Cicak became the first female umpire to take charge of Wimbledon men’s singles final.

Italian player Berrettini’s strength lies in a combination of devastating serving, fantastic forehand and delicate backhand slice that helped him win matches but his powers fell short before the defiance showed by the tremendously skilled Djokovic. Though Djokovic lost the first set to Berrettini but he soon consolidated his position through consecutive wins in following sets and held firm with his lead till he won his 20th grand slam title.

- Advertisement -

Earlier in the semi finals of Wimbledon 2021, Novak Djokovic beat Denis Shapovalov in straight sets 7-6, 7-5, 7-5 to book a place in Sunday’s men’s singles final with eight seed Italy’s Matteo Berrettini.

Achievement of Djokovic

Djokovic is now 20 time Grand Slam champion and he has been in the world No. 1 position for a record 324 weeks. He is one of 8 male players to achieve the Career Grand Slam and the only one to hold all 4 major titles on three different surfaces at once. Djokovic’s consistency on the ATP tour is matched only by Roger Federer. Djokovic has won 36 titles in the ATP Masters tournaments, a record shared with Nadal. Click here to read more about him and his achievements.

- Advertisement -

Other winners in Wimbledon

In the Women’s Singles Final at Wimbledon, Australian Ashleigh Barty defeated Czech Karolina Pliskova 6-3 6-7(4) 6-3 to become the first Australian woman to win the Wimbledon singles title for 41 years on Saturday.

In the women’s doubles final, the third-seeded Hsieh Su-wei of Taiwan and Elise Mertens won the title 3-6, 7-5, 9-7 on Centre Court after saving two match points against Russian duo Veronika Kudermetova and Elena Vesnina.

It was the third Wimbledon doubles title for Hsieh but with different partners and first for Mertens.

In the men’s doubles final at Wimbledon, the Croatian duo Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic added a Grand Slam title by defeating Marcel Granollers of Spain and Horacio Zeballos of Argentina 6-4, 7-6 (5), 2-6, 7-5 on Centre Court. It was eighth title for Mektic and Pavic in this season.

United States’s Desirae Krawczyk and Neal Skupski of Britain beat all-British duo Joe Salisbury and Harriet Dart 6-2, 7-6 (1) on Centre Court in the finals on Sunday. The duo also won the French Open title together last month.

Finally, in the boys’ singles final on Sunday, Samir Banerjee became the third Indian after Ramanathan Krishnan, Ramesh Krishnan and Leander Paes to win the title beating Victor Lilov 7-5, 6-3.

To catch hold of the latest and related sports news please visit the sports section of Transcontinental times.


- Advertisement -



Trending Today