14.2 C
Friday, September 22, 2023

Sri Lanka Defeats India By 7 Wickets To Win The T20I Series

Wanindu Hasranga was adjudged the Man Of The Match for his match-winning spell and he was also the Man of the Series.

Must read

Dhruv Chakraborty
Dhruv Chakraborty
An engineer, sports journalist, and editor with a passion for writing fitness and sports-related articles.

SRI LANKA: Sri Lanka defeats India by 7 wickets to win the 3rd and final T20I match of the 3-match T20I series between Sri Lanka and India. Sri Lanka won this T20I series 2-1. After winning the toss India decided to bat first. India was playing with only five batsmen as the other players apart from the playing 11 were not allowed to play in this T20I series because Indian player Krunal Pandya got Covid and the players who were in contact with Krunal were not allowed to play in the series.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shikhar Dhawan were opening the batting for India in this T20I. India had the worst of the starts as the Indian skipper got out in the very first ball that he faced. After that India just kept losing wickets at quick succession as Devdutt Paddikal got out after scoring just 9 runs, Sanju Samson got out without troubling the scorers and Ruturaj Gaikwad got out after scoring 14 runs.

- Advertisement -

India was struggling at 25/4 after 5 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Nitish Rana were at the crease. Nitish Rana failed to contribute much and he got out after scoring 6 runs and India was 36/5 after 9 overs. Kuldeep Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar tried to rejuvenate the Indian innings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar got out after scoring valuable 16 runs and India was 55/6 after 14.5 overs.

Kuldeep Yadav was the highest run-scorer for India in this T20I match as he scored 23 off 28 deliveries and after 20 overs Indians finished at 81/8. From the Sri Lankan side, Wanindu Hasaranga took 4 wickets in his 4 over spell. Dasun Shanaka took 2 wickets while Dushmantha Chameera and Ramesh Mendis took 1 wicket each.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: India Defeats Sri Lanka By 3 Wickets To Win The 3 Match ODI Series

Avishka Fernando and Minod Bhanuka were opening the batting for Sri Lanka. Avishka Fernando scored 12 runs off 18 deliveries and his opening partner Minod Bhanuka scored 18 off 27 deliveries. After they both got out Sri Lanka was 35/2 after 8 overs. After they both got out, Sadeera Samarawickrama and
Dhananjaya de Silva came out to bat. Sadeera got out after scoring just 6 runs. Wanindu Hasaranga who was the star with the ball, came out to bat after the departure of Sadeera Samarawickrama.

- Advertisement -

Dhananjaya de Silva and Wanindu Hasaranga took Sri Lanka towards victory and Sri Lanka won this T20I match by 7 wickets. Dhananjaya de Silva scored 23 off 20 deliveries and Wanindu Hasaranga scored 14 off 9 deliveries. From the Indian side, Rahul Chahar took all 3 wickets. His bowling figures were 3/15 in his 4 overs spell.


- Advertisement -



Comments are closed.

- Advertisement -

Trending Today