19.4 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023

AFCON 2021: Senegal Defeats Egypt Win the Title for the First Time in 65 Years

Sadio Mane, Senegal's talisman, was named the AFCON's most outstanding player this year

Must read

Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga is a graduate of Mass Communication and aspiring investigative journalist.

AFRICA. Egypt/Senegal: The Senegalese Terenga Lions defeated Egypt’s seven-time African champions, the Pharaohs, to win the 2021 African Cup of Nations (AFCON 2021) for the first time in Cameroon.

Senegal won the penalty shootout four goals to two after the game ended at zero-zero after 120 minutes of play.

- Advertisement -

This year’s final between Senegal and Egypt was the third final for Senegalese, who had previously lost to Algeria in 2019 and Cameroon in 2002, and saw them defeat Egyptians in the 2021 edition to become African champions for the first time in history.


Sadio Mane, Senegal’s talisman, was named the AFCON’s most outstanding player this year for his outstanding performance throughout the tournament.

- Advertisement -

Mane scored three goals in the recently concluded competition.

Mohamed Abou Gabal, the Egyptian puncher, was also named the best player for the final match between Senegal and Egypt. 

- Advertisement -

Gabal, on the other hand, was able to save two penalties.

Cameroon’s Vincent Aboubakar took home the tournament’s golden boot. 

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon advanced to the competition’s semi-finals, where they were defeated by the Pharaohs of Egypt on penalties, thanks to Aboubakar’s eight goals in the competition.

Edouard Mendy of Chelsea and Senegal was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper after keeping five clean sheets.

Senegal’s group stage

Senegal faces Guinea, Malawi, and Zimbabwe in their group B encounter.

AFCON 2021 round of 16 teams

Burkina Faso, Gabon, Nigeria, Tunisia, Guinea, Gambia, Cameroon, and Comorons. Others include Senegal, Cape Verde, Morocco, Malawi, Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, and Egypt.

Quarterfinal teams

Gambia, Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Egypt, Morocco, Senegal, and Equatorial Guinea,  

Semi-final teams

Cameroon, Egypt, Burkina Faso, and Senegal


The next African Cup of Nation (AFCON) competition is expected to take place in Cote D’Ivoire by 2023. 

Also Read: Nigeria Football Federation Signs N500 Million Teams’ Sponsorship Agreement With MTN


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today