21.6 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023

Astrology: A Science Of Celestial Bodies For Future Prediction Of Events (Part I)

Based on the observation of the cosmos around us, astrology measures the energy influencing Earth and it’s inhabitants

Must read

Nilesh Chogle
Nilesh Chogle
Accountancy and Auditing.CS from ICSI,Delhi.PGDFT from the World Trade Institute_Gold Medalist.keen in Pharma Industry,Corporate,Culture,Finance,Foreign Trade,Procurement & SCM.

INDIA: Astrology is a systematic study of celestial bodies to ascertain the characteristics, personalities, and traits of individuals. There are many passionate believers who feel that the future can indeed be predicted by studying the position of the Sun, the Moon, and other celestial bodies. 

The premise of the Vedic science

This ancient science also referred to as Vedic astrology (Phala-Jyotish) is based on the premise that the solar system, the sun, moon, planets, stars, and all other heavenly bodies have a direct or indirect influence on the existence and functioning of human life.

- Advertisement -

Astrology is often discredited as a pseudoscience by many. However, it is still followed religiously by several others to reap its benefits. While it is assumed that our fate cannot be changed or reversed, the knowledge of astrology is known to assist in being aware of one’s circumstance and attempts to consciously mold someone for coping with the ultimate power and forces of nature.

The ancient science of astrology

Astrology is an ancient practice that is a combination of art and science, as it is both intuitive and technical. But what exactly is astrology? Comprehending the answer to this in its entirety requires in-depth knowledge in the field of Vedic sciences. Based on the observation of the cosmos around us, it measures the energy influencing Earth and it’s inhabitants.

- Advertisement -

Read Also: Astronomical Significance Of The Indian Festival “Makar Sankranti”

It is assumed that when a human being is born at a particular date-time-place, the position of the planets and stars are in a unique pattern that is noted and used to derive one’s Kundali (Horoscope chart). These positions are broadly divided into 12 Rashis (Sun Signs) that help to determine the Zodiac signs.

The 12 Sun Signs or Zodiac Signs. Photo Credit:WhatsApp

The Signs of the Zodiac

- Advertisement -

Let us imagine the entire solar system as a circle and the Zodiac as a belt in this universe with the Sun and the Moon always at a particular width from the central line of motion. In addition to the moon, the planets Mars, Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto move in a lateral motion along the zodiac belt thereby occupying different positions at any given point in time.

For calculation, this picture as envisioned from the earth is projected as a circle divided into 12 parts. This is similar to the number of months in a year and the 12 Zodiac signs. The position of the Sun in one of those 12 quadrants at the time of the birth of an individual formulates the subsequent Zodiac sign in a sequence. However, the calculation of these 12 months is not the same as the English calendar.

Thus all human beings are classified into one of these 12 sectors that are given fictitious Zodiac signs, namely, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. These Zodiac Signs gives an idea of their dominant energies and outlook of life.

These properties are used to identify which stage in their life span does the individual belong. These 12 quadrants are also couped based on four elements- fire, water, air, and earth which are the elementary units of the universe and denotes the vital essence and nature possessed by that sign. The Rashis (Signs) are numbered in chronological order from 1-12. All the even-numbered signs are attributed as Feminine and odd-numbered signs as Masculine.

Masculine Signs: Aries(1), Gemini(3),Leo(5),Libra(7),Sagittarius(9),Aquarius(11).

Feminine Signs: Taurus(2),Cancer(4),Virgo(6),Scorpio(8),Capricorn(10),Pisces(12).

Fire elements: Aires, Leo, Sagittarius

Earth elements: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn.

Air elements: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius.

Water elements: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces.

The 12 Rashis are a generalized classification of personalities, the predictions of which are often found easily in daily newspapers, print media, and other such platforms. Ancient science dissects deeper into this study and splits the 12 Rashis into 28 Nakshatras (Asterisms or Constellations) that gives a more accurate and personalized reading of each being.

The Science of astrology is not complex, as most people assume it to be. Instead, it is logical, and people certainly need the patience to get to the root of the study for the benefit of mankind.


  • Nilesh Chogle

    Accountancy and Auditing.CS from ICSI,Delhi.PGDFT from the World Trade Institute_Gold Medalist.keen in Pharma Industry,Corporate,Culture,Finance,Foreign Trade,Procurement & SCM.

- Advertisement -



Comments are closed.

- Advertisement -

Trending Today