17.9 C
Saturday, June 10, 2023

Australia Wins Their First T20 World Cup after Eight-wicket Victory against New Zealand

This is the third time that Australia defeats New Zealand in an ICC championship finals: 2009 champions trophy, 2015 World cup, and 2021 World T20I.

Must read

Dhruv Chakraborty
Dhruv Chakraborty
An engineer, sports journalist, and editor with a passion for writing fitness and sports-related articles.

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES. Dubai: Warrior Warner and magnificent Marsh help Australia defeat New Zealand by 8 wickets and clinch their first-ever World T20I title. This is the third time that Australia defeats New Zealand in an ICC championship finals: 2009 champions trophy, 2015 World cup, and 2021 World T20I.

In this match after winning the toss, Australia decided to bowl first. This was the 6th time in 7 matches in this World cup that Australian skipper Aaron Finch won the toss.

- Advertisement -

Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell gave New Zealand a good start but Josh Hazlewood dismissed Daryl Mitchell by a beautiful delivery and after 3.5 overs New Zealand was 28/1. After the fall of the first wicket, Kane Williamson joined hands with Martin Guptill who was struggling a little bit with his timing. Kane Williamson started building his innings cautiously as he scored 18 runs off 19 deliveries at a strike rate of 94.73 but after that Kane Williamson took the momentum away from the Australian team as he scored 67 runs off his next 29 deliveries at a strike rate of 231.03 and he scored 85 runs off 48 deliveries which included 10 fours and 3 sixes. Before the wicket of Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill scored 28 off 35 deliveries which included 3 fours and after he got out Glenn Phillips scored 18 runs off 17 deliveries which included 1 four and 1 six.

After the fall of 4 wickets, New Zealand was 148/4 after 17.5 overs. In the last 2 overs, Jimmy Neesham scored 13 off 7 deliveries which included 1 six whereas Tim Seifert scored 8 runs off 6 deliveries which included 1 four. New Zealand finished their innings at a strong total of 172/4 after 20 overs. For Australia, Josh Hazlewood bowled brilliantly as he took 3/16 in his four overs spell and Adam Zampa took 1 wicket. Mitchell Starc became the second most expensive bowler for Australia in T20I as he gave 60 runs in his 4 overs spell. Mitchell Starc also became the most expensive bowler in a T20 International final match.

- Advertisement -

This record was previously held by Lasith Malinga who gave 54 runs in his 4 overs spell against West Indies in Colombo in 2012. The in-form David Warner and Australian skipper Aaron Finch were opening the batting for the Australian side. New Zealand got the early breakthrough that they wanted as they got rid of Australian skipper Aaron Finch (5 off 7) and Australia was 15/1 after 2.3 overs. After the wicket of Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh came in to join David Warner in the middle, and from the very first ball, he made his intentions quite clear. Mitchell Marsh hit a huge six off the very first ball that he faced followed by 2 fours and he boosted Australia’s run rate in the powerplay. David Warner played a superb knock along with Mitchell Marsh. They both bashed the New Zealand bowlers and made the chase easy for the Australian team. David Warner scored a beautiful half-century which included 4 fours and 3 sixes. David Warner once again proved that form is temporary and class is permanent. Mitchell Marsh and David Warner stitched up a 92 runs partnership.

After David Warner got out after scoring 53 runs off 38 deliveries, Australia was 107/2 after 12.2 overs. Glenn Maxwell joined hands with Mitchell Marsh after the wicket of David Warner. Mitchell Marsh kept hitting fours and sixes and he also brought up his half-century as he played a match-winning knock for the Australian side. Mitchell Marsh scored 77 runs off 50 deliveries which included 6 fours and 4 gigantic sixes.

- Advertisement -

Glenn Maxwell scored a quickfire 28 runs off 18 deliveries which included 4 fours and 1 six. Glenn Maxwell hit a reverse sweep towards deep third which resulted in a boundary and Australia won their first-ever T20I World Cup. For New Zealand, it was again a loss in the World cup finals. Trent Boult took 2 wickets from the New Zealand side. Mitchell Marsh was named the player of the match whereas David Warner was adjudged the player of the tournament.

This is only the second time that a player from the winning team won the player of the tournament. The first player to do so was Kevin Pietersen in 2010.


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today