18.5 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Government Approves New Sainik Schools

They will be affiliated to the Sainik Schools Society and their educational boards

Must read

Raju Vernekar
Raju Vernekar
Raju Vermekar is a senior Mumbai-based journalist who have worked with many daily newspapers. Raju contributes on versatile topics.

INDIA. MUMBAI: The Ministry of Defence has approved the establishment of 21 new Sainik Schools across the country, in collaboration with NGOs, private schools, and state governments, beginning with the academic year 2022-2023.

These schools will be built in the first phase as part of the government’s partnership initiative to build 100 new Sainik schools. They will be distinct from current Sainik Schools.

- Advertisement -

The goals of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision to establish 100 new Sainik Schools are to provide quality education to students in accordance with National Education Policy and to provide them with better career opportunities, including joining the Armed Forces. It also allows the private sector to collaborate with the government on nation building by preparing youth to be responsible citizens. The new Sainik schools will encourage young women to pursue their dreams of serving their country.

In October of last year, the Union Cabinet approved a proposal to establish 100 affiliated Sainik Schools. According to a Ministry of Defence statement, 194 schools have applied to join the Sainik School Society (SSS).

- Advertisement -

There are 17 Brownfield schools and 4 Greenfield schools among these. While NGOs, Trusts, and Societies have a share of 12 approved new schools, six private schools and three State Government-owned schools also make the list. In contrast to existing Sainik Schools, which are entirely residential, 7 new Sainik Schools will be Day Schools, with 14 others having residential arrangements.

The Sainik Schools Society(SSS), is an autonomous organization under the Ministry of Defence which runs English medium residential Sainik Schools affiliated to the Central Board of Secondary Education(CBSE). These schools prepare cadets to join the National Defence Academy (NDA), Khadakwasla (Pune), Indian Naval Academy, Ezhimala, Kerala and other officer training academies There are currently 33 Sainik Schools across the country that offer admission at the Class VI and Class IX levels based on candidates’ performance in the All-India Sainik School Entrance Examination (AISSEE).

- Advertisement -

In addition to their affiliation with respective education boards, these new Sainik schools will now operate under the auspices of the SSS and will adhere to the rules and regulations established by the Society in a partnership mode. They will provide education based on the Sainik school pattern in addition to their regular affiliated board curriculum.

Admission process: 

(A) Only class VI students will be admitted to these schools, based on the following criteria: a) At least 40% of the class VI intake will be from candidates who qualified for the AISSE administered by the National Testing Agency via E-Counselling. B) Up to 60% of the intake will be from students enrolled in the same school who wish to take admission under this vertical of new Sainik Schools via a qualifying test, for which notification will be issued separately.

(B) Candidates qualified in AISSEE-2022  willing to take admission in a newly approved school of their choice will have to register themselves for e-counselling. (C) For the students already enrolled in the new Sainik School, admission will be provided based on a qualifying test. The academic session for approved new Sainik Schools is likely to commence in the first week of May 2022. Portal for inviting applications for the remaining new Sainik Schools for consideration in the next round is likely to be re-opened in the first week of April 2022. 

New schools

Andhra Pradesh: Y.S.R. Kadapa Pooja International School, Arunachal Pradesh: Tawang, Tawang Public School, Assam: Cachar, Directorate of Secondary Education, Assam, Bihar: Samatipur, Sundari Devi Saraswati Vidya Mandir, Chhattisgarh: Raipur, N H Goel World School, Dadra, and Nagar Haveli: Vidya Bharati Gujarat Pradesh (Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military Academy) and Gujarat: Junagadh, Brahmchari Shri Bhagavatinandji Education trust( Shri Bramhanand Vidya Mandir,

Haryana: Fatehabad, Om Vishnu Education Society (Royal International Residential School), Himachal Pradesh: Solan, Raj Luxmi Samvad Gurukulam, Karnataka: Belgaum, Sangolli Rayanna Sainik School, Kerala: Ernakulam, Sree Sarada Vidyalaya, Madhya Pradesh: Mandsaur, Saraswati Vidya Mandir Higher Secondary School and Maharashtra: Ahmednagar, Pd Dr. V Vikhe Patil Sainik School.

Nagaland: Dimapur, Livingstone Foundation International, Odisha: Dhenkanal, Sanskar Public School (Abakash Foundation), Punjab: Patiala, Dayanand Public School Silver city, Nabha, Rajasthan: Ganganagar, Bharti Charitable Trust (Blooming Dales International School), Tamil Nadu: Tuticorin, The Vikasa School, Telangana: Karim Nagar, Telangana Social Welfare Residential Sainik School, Uttar Pradesh: Etawah, Vikas Lok Seva Samiti (Mount Littera Zee School) and Uttarakhand: Dehradun, GRD World School Bhauwala.

Also Read: The Kashmir Files Goes Tax Free in Haryana, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh


  • Raju Vernekar

    Raju Vermekar is a senior Mumbai-based journalist who have worked with many daily newspapers. Raju contributes on versatile topics.

- Advertisement -



Trending Today