16.3 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Max Verstappen Wins Mexico City Grand Prix 2021

Max Verstappen won the Mexican Grand Prix at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City last Sunday to extend his F1 World Championship points lead over Mercedes runner-up Lewis Hamilton.

Must read

Partha Pratim Ray
Partha Pratim Ray
Senior journalist covering topics related to sports and corporate communication.

MEXICO. Mexico City: Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen won 2021 Mexico City Grand Prix, held on 7 November 2021 at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City. Lewis Hamilton finished second. Sergio Perez, Max’s teammate, finished third.

This win was Verstappen’s ninth victory for the current season. It was a tense 10 laps as Hamilton’s car was overheating and Sergio Perez could have finished second any time, but he held on to claim second place points. Sergio Perez became Driver of the Day and the first Mexican driver to make the Formula 1 podium in his home race. 

- Advertisement -

The 2021 Mexico City Grand Prix (officially known as the Formula 1 Gran Premio de la Ciudad de México 2021) was the 18th round of the 2021 Formula One World Championship and marked the 21st edition of the Mexican Grand Prix, which was run under the name Mexico City Grand Prix, acknowledging the sponsorship support of the government of Mexico City.

AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly finished fourth, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finished fifth and sixth respectively. Sebastian Vettel finished seventh. Aston Martin and Alfa Romeo’s Kimi Raikkonen came eighth. Alpine’s Fernando Alonso finished ninth and McLaren’s Lando Norris — tenth. 

- Advertisement -

Mexico City Grand Prix Top 5

  1. Max Verstappen (Team Red Bull Racing Honda), Time: 1:38:39.086, Points: 25
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Team Mercedes AMG Petronas), Time: +16.555s, Points: 18
  3. Sergio Pérez (Team Red Bull Racing Honda), Time: +17.752s, Points: 15
  4. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) , Time: +63.845s, Points: 12
  5. Charles Leclerc (Team Ferrari) , Time: +81.037s, Points: 10

Driver Standing after Mexico City GP

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing), Points: 312.5
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), Points: 293.5
  3. Valteri Bottas (Mercedes), Points: 185

Constructors Standings after Mexico City GP

  1. Mercedes – (Hamilton / Bottas), Points: 478.5
  2. Red Bull Racing – (Verstappen / Perez), Points: 477.5
  3. Ferrari – (Charles / Carlos), Points: 268.5

About Mexico City Grand Prix

The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez is a 4.304 km motorsport race track in Mexico City, Mexico, named after Ricardo and Pedro Rodríguez. The circuit, earlier known as Magdalena Mixhuaca circuit, was renamed shortly after it opened when Ricardo Rodríguez died in practice for the non-Championship 1962 Mexican Grand Prix. Ricardo’s brother Pedro was also killed behind the wheel nine years later.

Designed by a student named Óscar Fernández in 1953 as his thesis, the circuit is located at the height of 2,238 m. The thin air also reduces the levels of aerodynamic drag that cars experience.

- Advertisement -

F1 was previously hosted in two separate periods on a different layout till 1992. The Formula One Mexican Grand Prix returned in 2015 to a massively revamped circuit under the direction of the architect Hermann Tilke. The circuit is located within the public park of the Magdalena Mixhuca Sports City in southeast Mexico City. The circuit is owned by the Government of the City but is currently operated under concession by Corporación Interamericana de Entretenimiento (CIE) through OCESA, one of CIE’s subsidiaries.


With four races remaining in this season, Lewis Hamilton needs to go all out in his performance to match and go beyond that of Max Verstappen in his quest to win his eighth championship title. The upcoming races in this season will surely witness more sparks on the circuit as the quest for this season’s title championship enters its penultimate stage.

Coming next in the Formula One season for 2021 is the Sao Paulo Grand Prix which is scheduled from November 12 to 14, 2021, at The Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace. You can find the complete Formula One Calendar for 2021 here.


SourceFormla 1
- Advertisement -



Trending Today