15.2 C
Thursday, June 1, 2023

Mitch Evans Wins Julius Baer Sao Paulo E-Prix Round 6

Team Jaguar TCS Racing secured Double Podium while Envision Racing’s Nick Cassidy claimed a Formula E podium, third in a row at the inaugural São Paulo E-Prix

Must read

Partha Pratim Ray
Partha Pratim Ray
Partha Pratim Ray is an India-based expert and senior journalist in corporate communication, branding, social media management, and public relations.

BRAZIL. Sao Paulo: Jaguar TCS Racing driver Mitch Evans won the Sao Paulo Race, defeating Envision Racing’s Nick Cassidy by 0.284 seconds while Jaguar TCS Racing’s Sam Bird completed the podium.

Evans managed to navigate his way through frequent changes in positions during the race and took a decisive move on Lap 32 that made him win a certain that neither his nearest rival Cassidy nor Bird could match. Cassidy showed good pace and secured third place in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

- Advertisement -

Earlier in the race, the DS PENSKE driver and Polesitter Stoffel Vandoorne took the lead, overtaking Porsche driver Antonio Felix da Costa during the first round, but halfway through the race, Cassidy took the lead. Unfortunately, Da Costa missed the podium and secured the fourth position, followed by Jean-Eric Vergne, who took the fifth spot.

The current standings leader, Pascal Wehrlein, had to settle for the seventh position, followed by Jake Hughes, who finished eighth. He finished ahead of teammate Rast who secured the ninth position, while Envision Racing driver Sebastien Buemi took the tenth position.  

- Advertisement -

I said I’d be super happy with a podium today,” Envision Racing driver Nick Cassidy told Formula E’s pit lane reporter, Nicki Shields, after his top three results in Sao Paulo. “With a race like that, you can’t be happy, right? That was Formula E at its best. So much fun for me in the car. I hope it was a good watch.” 

The Sao Paulo E-Prix results: Top 5

  • Mitch Evans (JAGUAR TCS RACING) Time: 53:25:536 Secs Points: 25
  • Nick Cassidy (ENVISION RACING) Time: + 0:00:284 Secs Points: 18
  • Sam Bird (JAGUAR TCS RACING) Time: + 0:00:507 Secs Points: 16
  • António Félix (TAG HEUER PORSCHE FORMULA E TEAM) Time: + 0:03:487 Secs Points: 12
  • Jean-Éric Vergne (DS PENSKE) Time: + 0:04:042 Secs Points: 10

The Driver’s standings after Sao Paulo E-Prix

  • Pascal Wehrlein (TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team point) 86 PTS
  • Jake Dennis (Avalanche/ Andretti Formula E) 62 PTS
  • Nick Cassidy (Envision Racing) 61 PTS
  • Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) 60 PTS
  • António Félix Da Costa (TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team) 58 PTS

The Team standings after Sao Paulo E-Prix

  • TAG HEUER PORSCHE Formula E Team, 144 PTS
  • ENVISION Racing, 103 PTS
  • Jaguar TCS Racing, 83 PTS
  • Avalanche Andretti Formula E, 80 PTS

Coming next is the ABB FIA Formula E 2023 SABIC Berlin E-Prix scheduled on April 22 in Berlin, Germany.

About FIA Formula E and Sao Paulo E-Prix 

- Advertisement -

The circuit at Sao Paulo is an 11-turn, 2.933-km circuit located in the Santana district of Sao Paulo with a capacity of over 103,000 people. Oscar Niemeyer, an architect from Brazil, designed the racetrack, which opened in 1991. The race track in Sao Paulo had previously hosted international motor racing. 

As per Jeremy Colancon, Maserati MSG Racing’s Racing Director, the circuit in Sao Paulo features a lot of long straights, big braking zones, and low-speed corners. The cars need to change their stability, to allow for better rotation in the corners. The heavy braking zones also witness lots of overtaking during the race, Adds Colancon. The long straights at Sao Paulo demand a high consumption of energy, which will be recovered.

Formula E is a sport for all-electric cars that promotes the adoption of sustainable mobility in the city to put a check on air pollution and has the same chassis and battery. A Formula E car is an open-wheel auto racing car made according to the regulations of the International Automobile Federation (FIA) to take part in the FIA Formula E Championship. Races are driven on closed, temporary street circuits designed specifically for this racing category.

As of 2022, there have been three major generations of Formula E cars:

  • 1st generation (2014–15 to 2017–18)
  • 2nd generation (2018–19 to 2021–22)
  • 3rd generation (from 2023)

With the launch of the GEN3—which happens to be the most efficient race car in the world—Formula E remains committed to its net-zero carbon efforts.

Also Read: McLaren Announces Shake-up of Technical Department Following Poor Start to F1 Season


  • Partha Pratim Ray

    Partha Pratim Ray is an India-based expert and senior journalist in corporate communication, branding, social media management, and public relations.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today