19.4 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023

NPFL: Remo Stars Qualify for Confederation Cup, Heartland Relegated with Kano Pillars

The Kano Pillars finished the NPFL season in 2021/2022 with 42 points from 37 games

Must read

Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga is a graduate of Mass Communication and aspiring investigative journalist.

NIGERIA: The last games of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) 2021/22 season were played on Sunday with the confirmation of the four teams to be relegated.

This concluded an intensive seven-month action-packed season-the shortest in NPFL history.

- Advertisement -

The judgement by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) appeal committee maintaining the three-point deduction punishment for violence act against Dakkada FC of Akwa Ibom state confirmed the relegation of Kano-based FC.

It was earlier reported that the “Sai Masu Gida Boys’’ had been penalized with point deduction by the NFF disciplinary committee. The penalty was given after Suraj Yahaya, Kano Pillars chairman, had assaulted an assistant referee during his club’s game against Dakkada FC.

- Advertisement -

The Wikki Tourists FC of Bauchi state wallops Katsina FC three goals to nil to further push the Katsina-based club into the relegation zones.

While Heartland FC’s success against Kwara United FC of Kwara state, was not enough to secure the Owerri-based team from languishing into the relegation waters.

- Advertisement -

However, Remo Stars defeated the Niger Tornadoes of Niger state 3-0 to pick the third spot on the log to secure a qualification ticket for the Confederation of African Football (CAF Confederations Cup).

Since Chinedu Akuneto of Rivers United of Port Harcourt won the golden boot title with 19 goals, Rivers United of Port Harcourt was declared the season’s champion.

The Kano-based FC will still have to compete in the NLL in the upcoming season even with a victory over the Shooting Stars.

The Kano Pillars finished the NPFL season in 2021/2022 with 42 points from 37 games. The Sai Masu Gida Boys won the championship for the years 2007–2008, 2011–2012, 2013, and 2014.

Also Read: ‘Nigeria Custom’ Wins 2022 Mark D’Ball Basketball Tournament


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today