18.7 C
Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Despite Ukraine’s Disapproval, Russia Takes over as Chair of UN Security Council

Ukraine's presidential advisor, Mykhaylo Podolyak, criticised the decision

Must read

UKRAINE: On a rotating basis, each of the 15 members of the council assumes the presidency for one month. A full-scale invasion of Ukraine was started by Russia in February 2022, the last month it held the presidency.

It indicates that a nation whose president is wanted for suspected war crimes is in charge of the Security Council. The arrest warrant for Vladimir Putin was issued by the International Criminal Court, despite Ukraine’s protests, despite the US claiming it was powerless to prevent Russia from gaining the presidency.

- Advertisement -

The United Kingdom, the United States, France, and China are permanent members of the UN Security Council. Vasily Nebenzia, Russia’s ambassador to the UN, plans to preside over debates on arms control.

Dmytro Kuleba, the foreign minister of Ukraine, referred to Russia’s presidency as “the worst April Fool’s joke ever” and a warning that something is wrong with the international security architecture.

- Advertisement -

Ukraine’s presidential advisor, Mykhaylo Podolyak, criticised the decision as a “rape of international law” by an entity that violates humanitarian and criminal law, tramples on the UN Charter, disregards nuclear safety, and cannot lead the major international security organisation.

Last year, President Volodymyr Zelensky demanded that the Security Council be reformed or “dissolved entirely,” accusing it of not doing enough to stop Russia’s invasion.

- Advertisement -

Yet, the US has claimed that because the UN charter forbids the removal of a permanent member, it is unable to act. White House press secretary Karine Jean-Pierre warned that Russia is a permanent member of the Security Council and will use its presence to promote disinformation and defend its actions in Ukraine.

The UN Security Council is an international organisation tasked with keeping the peace. The Security Council has five permanent members. They are an expression of the post-war power structure that existed when the council was founded.

This group collaborates with 10 non-permanent member nations. Russia has the power to veto resolutions because it is a permanent member of the Security Council. The resolution will be approved if nine members of the Security Council vote in favour.

Russia blocked a resolution in February to end its invasion of Ukraine and a resolution in September to undo its annexation of four Ukrainian territories. China, Gabon, India, China, and Brazil abstained.

Also Read: UK Astronomers Uncover Ultramassive Black Hole 33 Billion Times Larger Than the Sun

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today