INDIA: WhatsApp is working on a new feature that will enable users to sync chat histories between devices. Thanks to the companion mode function, users can add a second mobile device to their WhatsApp account without an active Internet connection.
As a result, it is similar to the capacity to handle many devices but distinct from it. Users cannot link two cellphones to the same account since the multi-device feature only allows for connecting four different devices.
Wabetainfo states that WhatsApp will make it simpler for customers to connect a second phone to their account. As a result, you can now use the same account on two different phones. With the existing setup, users cannot use WhatsApp on two cellphones. However, users can access their accounts from computers, tablets, and other technology. Currently, the functionality is being developed.
When users sign into WhatsApp from a different mobile device, chats are securely duplicated to the companion device. “The process may take some time, so WhatsApp is working on adding the same message system as WhatsApp Web/Desktop: it informs users that old messages are temporarily unavailable while chats are still in sync,” Wabetainfo reported on the feature.
Another key feature that WhatsApp may soon roll out is the ability to hide their online status from specific people. The users will get the option of deciding who can read their online status. Beta customers won’t have access to the functionality because it is still being developed.
It will be possible to manage who can see when we are online directly under our last seen settings once the “Everyone” and “Same as Last Seen” options are added. If you select “My contacts” for “Last Seen” and “Same as Last Seen” for “online,” for example, no one outside of your contact list will be able to see when you are online.
Users of WhatsApp now have the option to decide which contacts receive their last seen and status updates. Users had no control over who could view their last seen or status updates. The user has only three options: “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” and “Nobody.” The menu option “My Contacts except” is now available to users.