18.4 C
Saturday, March 25, 2023

2022 Para Games: Team Bayelsa Won 93 Medals to Emerge Champion

The seven-day event, held at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, the nation's capital, has 20 teams, including the Federal Capital Territory Abuja

Must read

Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga
Hamzat Ibrahim Abaga is a graduate of Mass Communication and aspiring investigative journalist.

NIGERIA. ABUJA: Bayelsa State won 93 medals to become a champion at the just concluded first edition of the National Para Games.

The seven-day event, held at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, the nation’s capital, has 20 teams, including the Federal Capital Territory Abuja. 

- Advertisement -

Speaking during the closing ceremony, the Minister of Sport Development Sunday Dare applauded the participating states and the athletes for their effort to see the competition’s success.

Dare, who was ably represented by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Ismail Abubakar, further expressed his appreciation to the host state, officials, organizing committee, sponsors, and the spectators for the hitch-free event. 

- Advertisement -

Thanks to the Almighty’s immense success recorded in the games, I also wish to express my profound gratitude to all the states which participated in this first edition together with their sponsors and fans, Abubakar has said.

Also speaking, Chairman of Local Organizing Committee (LOC) Peter Nelson thanks the participants for their maximum cooperation and promises more organized and exciting events in the subsequent edition.

- Advertisement -

Nelson also stated that para-athletes have made Nigerians proud at international levels. It is the right time for the federal government to put resources together to organize programs like this. It could help identify good players in preparation for more significant events on the international stage. 

Organizing this competition will make the para-athletes believe that the federal government has good and bigger plans for them; as such, the second edition of the competition, which will be taking place next year, will be more organized and exciting. But after the 2023 edition, the subsequent editions are expected to take place every two years.

Medals statistics

However, the top five teams in the tournament are; team Bayelsa who came first with 31 gold, 30 silver, and 32 bronze, which make it 93 medals. Team Oyo has 60 medals;  24 gold, 15 silver, and 21 bronze. Kano came third with 42 awards, consisting of 21 gold, 13 silver, and eight bronze.

Others include; Ondo, fourth with 29 medals; 15 gold, 11 silver, and three bronze. Edo fifth with 23 awards; 17 gold, five silver, and a bronze. 

Also Read: Max Verstappen Wins the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix 2022


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today