6.2 C
Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Navratri: Significance of Nine Colours and Avatars of Goddess Durga

During the nine-day Navratri festival, devotees worship Maa Durga's nine incarnations to get her blessings

Must read

INDIA: The Hindu festival of Navratri is an auspicious nine-day-long celebration that honours Maa Durga for killing the demon Mahishasura.

During the nine-day Navratri festival, devotees worship Maa Durga’s nine incarnations to get her blessings. Each day of Navratri is associated with an incarnation of the goddess.

- Advertisement -

Goddess Parvati is an enlivening power of feminine force in the universe and is regarded as the central divinity of Shaivism.

Goddess Parvati has various names with different meanings such as Maa Kali, Maa Tara, Maa Sadasi, Maa Dhumavati, Maa Durga, Maa Sherawali, Maa Bhairavi, Maa Vidya Kamala, Maa Matangi, Maa Uma, etc.

- Advertisement -

The nine-day-long festival is dedicated to the worship of the nine avatars of Maa Durga and culminates with the immersion of the goddess’ idols on Vijay Dashami.

The nine days include worshipping nine incarnations (avatars) of Goddess Durga. The nine avatars of Goddess Durga are Shailputri, Brahmcharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.

- Advertisement -

Each day has its own importance and significance. Each day of the festival is dedicated to a color, and people around the globe follow the colour code with great zeal and joy.

According to the Drik Panchang, the nine days are chosen for specific colours:

Nine avatars of Goddess Durga. Photo Credit: Instagram

Day 1: September 26: White (the purity and peace goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on this day).

Day 2: September 27: Red (beauty and fearlessness as Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on this day)

Day 3: September 28: Royal Blue (health and wealth as Goddess Kushmanda, who is believed to be the creator of the universe, is worshipped on this day.)

Day 4: September 29: Yellow (happiness and prosperity as Goddess Skandamata is worshipped on this day)

Day 5: September 30: Green ( New beginnings and growth in one’s life as Goddess Katyayani the destroyer of evil is worshipped on this day) 

Day 6: October 1: Grey (strength of transformation as Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped on this day) 

Day 7: October 2: Orange (energy and happiness as Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on this day)

Day 8 – October 3: Peacock Green (fulfillment of wishes, as Goddess Siddhidatri, is worshipped on this day )

Day 9: October 4: Purple (intellect and peace as Mahagauri is worshipped on this day)

Also Read: The Significance of Mahalaya

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Trending Today